Looking to start a Defense Technologies Company based on invention ideas for Military

RMcIntosh5

Hello Defense Talk. My name is Ryan McIntosh. Im a 22 year old 3rd year business student at NJCU School of Business. I would classify myself as a "self taught" engineer and constant idea generator. Im in the process of trying to patent a few products in the Defense and Alternative Energy Industries.I am looking to start a Defense technologies company that manufactures and develops advanced military systems based on my own ideas.

My first question is: Can I patent a Military system? ( such as Weapon systems, Robotic systems, Unmanned air and ground systems, Soldier Enhancement systems including ExoSkelatons and Situational awarness assistance systems)

Second question: What route should I take for Product development? Should I apply for Department of Defense grants like SBIR or should I find an investor looking to help me develop these systems and than try marketing to the DoD?

I have been doing tons of research on Military research and development, DoD grant programs, defense contracting, etc. There is too much information out there to make sense of everything . Im afraid that my designs and ideas can be taken and developed with the " Big Guys." I need some sort or direction. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Gremlin29

Super Moderator
Staff member
Verified Defense Pro
Hello Defense Talk. My name is Ryan McIntosh. Im a 22 year old 3rd year business student at NJCU School of Business. I would classify myself as a "self taught" engineer and constant idea generator. Im in the process of trying to patent a few products in the Defense and Alternative Energy Industries.I am looking to start a Defense technologies company that manufactures and develops advanced military systems based on my own ideas.